Held every four years, the Canada Winter Games are a showcase of the best under-16 players in the country, representing their home province. Men’s hockey debuted at the inaugural Canada Games in 1967, with the University of Alberta beating the University of B.C. to win the first gold medal. 

The tournament replaced the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge every four years through the 1990s and 2000s, before it became a U16 event in 2011. Ontario (6G 2S 2B) and Alberta (4G 4S 3B) have owned the top of the podium, combining for 10 of the 15 gold medals, and seven different provinces have earned at least one medal. The star-studded alumni list is headed by Sidney Crosby, who wore the ‘C’ for Nova Scotia in 2003.

Canada Winter Games (men's hockey)
Prince Edward Island
Feb. 18-March 5, 2023
Red Deer, Alta.
Feb. 15-March 3, 2019
Prince George, B.C.
Feb. 13-March 1, 2015
All-Time Results
Year Gold Silver Bronze Location
2023 Ontario Saskatchewan Quebec Prince Edward Island
2019 Quebec Ontario Alberta Red Deer, Alta.
2015 Ontario Alberta Manitoba Prince George, B.C.
2011 British Columbia Quebec Alberta Halifax, N.S.
2007 Ontario Manitoba Alberta Whitehorse, Yukon
2003 Alberta Quebec Ontario Bathurst, N.B.
1999 Alberta Quebec British Columbia Corner Brook, N.L.
1995 Saskatchewan Alberta Quebec Grande Prarie, Alta.
1991 Ontario Alberta Manitoba Charlottetown, P.E.I.
1987 Quebec Ontario British Columbia Cape Breton, N.S.
1983 Ontario British Columbia Quebec Saguenay, Que.
1979 British Columbia Nova Scotia Quebec McCreary, Man.
1975 Alberta Nova Scotia Quebec Lethbridge, Alta.
1971 Ontario Alberta Quebec Saskatoon, Sask.
1967 Alberta British Columbia Ontario Quebec City, Que.