mccrimmon butler clouston 640

Changes made to Canada’s National Junior Team and Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team coaching staff

June 23, 2015

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in conjunction with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Tuesday that Kelly McCrimmon (Plenty, Sask./Brandon, WHL) will join Canada’s National Junior Team as an assistant coach and Stan Butler (East York, Ont./North Bay, OHL) will serve as head coach of Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team.

McCrimmon, who was previously named head coach of Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, accepted the position with the National Junior Team coaching staff following the departure of D.J. Smith, who joined the NHL’s Toronto Maple Leafs as an assistant coach. McCrimmon joins head coach Dave Lowry (Ottawa/Victoria, WHL), and assistant coaches Dominique Ducharme (Joliette, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) and Martin Raymond (Pierrefonds, Que./Drummondville, QMJHL) on the coaching staff for Canada’s National Junior Team.

With McCrimmon’s move, Butler takes over as head coach of Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, and will be joined by new assistant coach Shaun Clouston (Viking, Alta./Medicine Hat, WHL). Clouston replaces Sheldon Keefe, who was recently named head coach of the AHL’s Toronto Marlies. Butler and Clouston will be joined by assistant coach Darren Rumble (Barrie, Ont./Moncton, QMJHL).

Kelly McCrimmon will make his first appearance with Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence. He is the owner, general manager and head coach of the WHL’s Brandon Wheat Kings, having been with the team since 1988-89. The general manager since 1989, McCrimmon served as head coach from 2004-11, and returned to the role in 2013. He has helped the Wheat Kings to three appearances at the Memorial Cup, once as a player (1979), once as general manager (1996), and once as head coach and general manager (2010). McCrimmon was named WHL executive of the year in 1994-95 and 2009-10, and received the CHL executive of the year award in 2009-10.

Stan Butler is the head coach and director of hockey operations with the OHL’s North Bay Battalion, and recently completed his 17th season with the team, making him the longest-tenured coach in the Ontario Hockey League. As head coach of Canada’s National Junior Team, Butler won bronze at the IIHF World Junior Championship in 2001 and silver in 2002, and earned a silver medal as an assistant coach in 1999. As head coach, he won gold with Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team at the 1999 Four Nations Tournament, and gold as an assistant coach at the 1998 Three Nations Tournament.

Shaun Clouston returns for a second consecutive season with Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team after winning gold as an assistant coach at the 2014 U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup. Clouston has been head coach for the WHL’s Medicine Hat Tigers for the last five seasons, and general manager for the last three. He has been with the Tigers since 2003, serving as an assistant coach from 2003-10, and has led the Tigers to the playoffs each season since being named head coach in 2010.

Rosters and schedules for Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek Summer Development Camp and Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team selection camp will be announced in the coming days.

For more information on the Hockey Canada Program of Excellence, please visit, or follow along via social media at,, and

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

2022 IPH: CAN 4 – CZE 1 (Semifinal)
Dominic Cozzolino scored twice to lead Canada to the IPH Cup Final.
2022 IPH: USA 8 – CAN 2 (Preliminary)
Jacobs-Webb and Hickey had power play goals in Canada’s prelim finale.
2022 IPH: CAN 5 – IPH 2 (Preliminary)
Cozzolino had a four-point game as Canada defeated Team IPH on Sunday.
2022 IPH: CAN 3 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Hickey scored twice and Huneault made 13 saves in Canada’s shutout.