iihf officials skating warmup

26 Canadian officials selected to work 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship

World Juniors to use all-Canadian officiating line-up for first time

November 25, 2020

CALGARY, Alta. – With one month until the puck drops on the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) and Hockey Canada have announced the officials selected to work the World Juniors, set for Dec. 25-Jan. 5 in Edmonton, Alta.

Due to the unique nature of the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship, the IIHF Officiating Committee has selected an all-Canadian line-up of 26 officials – 14 referees and 12 linesmen - that represent seven Hockey Canada Members. The decision was made to ensure the health and safety of all participants due to COVID-19 and current travel restrictions.

“Hockey Canada is proud of the 26 Canadian officials that have been selected to work the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship this year. Although it is a unique year, we know these individuals will represent Canada with pride when they step on the ice in Edmonton,” said Todd Anderson, senior manager of officiating with Hockey Canada. “Our officials have worked tirelessly to get to this point in their careers, and to be considered among the top officials in Canada is an honour.”

The following officials have been selected to represent Canada at the 2021 World Juniors:


Adam Bloski (Saskatoon, Sask.)

Guillaume Brunelle (Saint-Lambert, Que.)

Michael Campbell (Surrey, B.C.)

Matt Ceko (St. Catharines, Ont.)

Alexandre Garon (Terrebonne, Que.)

Maxime Chaput (Saint-Jérôme, Que.)

Olivier Gouin (Laval, Que.)

Jonathan Deschamps (Trois-Rivières, Que.)

Kyle Kowalski (Edmonton, Alta.)

Deion Foster (Edmonton, Alta.)

Guillaume Labonté (Trois-Rivières, Que.)

Adam Harris (Hamilton, Ont.)

Mike Langin (Saskatoon, Sask.)

Brett Mackey (Surrey, B.C.)

Fraser Lawrence (Edmonton, Alta.)

Kelsey Mahoney (Narol, Man.)

Kevin Maillé (Saint-Sauveur, Que.)

Matthew Mannella (Niagara Falls, Ont.)

Mathieu Menniti (Verdun, Que.)

Benjamin O’Quinn (Woodstock, Ont.)

Mark Pearce (North Vancouver, B.C.)

Nathan Vanoosten (Vancouver, B.C.)

Brett Roeland (Winnipeg, Man.)

Tarrington Wyonzek (Regina, Sask.)

Carter Sandlak (London, Ont.)


Tyson Stewart (Almonte, Ont.)


All 26 officials are products of the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, which includes six levels of certification and is the foundation for the training and development of officials across Canada.

For more information on the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, please visit HockeyCanada.ca/Officials.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327


Recent News
Most Popular
2022 Centennial Cup: May 25 (Preliminary)
Summerside, Dauphin and Brooks finished the prelims with Wednesday wins.
2022 MWC: CAN 7 – FRA 1 (Preliminary)
Dubois scored twice to help Canada finish prelims with a win.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 24 (Preliminary)
Brooks, Longueuil and Flin Flon earned important wins Tuesday.
2022 MWC: DEN 3 – CAN 2 (Preliminary)
Comtois and Graves scored goals, but Canada fell to the Danes.