calgary boardroom door

Hockey Canada adds new member to board of directors

John Neville elected to board, effective immediately

September 23, 2021

CALGARY, Alta. – Following the completion of Hockey Canada’s virtual Summer Congress on Sept. 11, the organization and its 13 Members elected John Neville (Markham, Ont.) to the Hockey Canada Board of Directors during a special meeting of the Members. He replaces Leanne Standryk, who was appointed to the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario in May 2021. 

“We are excited to welcome John to the Hockey Canada Board of Directors, as we know his wealth of experience working at various levels of minor hockey will provide great value to the organization, our board and the game in general,” said Michael Brind’Amour, chair of the board. “With Leanne moving on to a great opportunity, Hockey Canada, the board and the 13 Members knew it would take time to fill the position, but we believe John will make an immediate impact in this role.” 

Neville has coached at various levels of hockey throughout his four decades in the game. He has been recognized on numerous occasions for his contributions to minor hockey, including the Lieutenant Governor’s Award, Sport Nova Scotia Achievement Award and Shearwater East Dartmouth Minor Hockey Association Lifetime Achievement Award. Neville also received the President’s Award from the Ontario Hockey Federation in 2019 and was recognized as Volunteer of the Year by Hockey Canada in 2021. He has served on several boards and committees as a volunteer, including the Greater Toronto Hockey League Board of Directors.

Following Hockey Canada’s Winter Congress and Annual Meeting in November 2020, Brind’Amour was re-elected as chair of the board for a second-consecutive term, while five directors were elected to serve two-year terms on the board for the first time - Terry Engen, Bobby Sahni, Andrea Skinner, Standryk and Mary Anne Veroba. Three members were also re-elected to serve two-year terms – Kirk Lamb, Barry Reynard and Goops Wooldridge. 

Hockey Canada’s Summer Congress brought together the governing body’s board of directors and representation from all 13 Members.

Hockey Canada’s Winter Congress and Annual Meeting is scheduled for Nov. 18-20 in Toronto, pending the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit, or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and by using #OurGameIsBack.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327


Recent News
Most Popular
2021-22 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 1
Clark scored twice to give Canada the win in the Rivalry opener.
2021 WGIHW: Canadians celebrate women’s hockey
See how Canadians celebrated World Girls' Ice Hockey Weekend in 2021.
2021-22 NPT: WHT 3 – RED 2 SO (Intrasquad)
Dolan scored in the shootout to lead White to the victory.
2021-22 NPT: RED 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
McGregor scored two and set up two to lead Red to the victory.