official hands on hips

Succeeding in stripes

Eight Canadian officials have been recognized for their academic and athletic achievements as recipients of the Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship

Jason La Rose
June 21, 2021

Hockey Canada has unveiled the eight recipients of the Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship for the 2020-21 season. The scholarships are awarded annually to members of the Hockey Canada Officiating Program to help offset the cost of post-secondary education, supporting their efforts to reach their university or college goals, and to reward their interest in mentoring the next generation of officials.

This year’s recipients include:

• Hazel Barthel – University of British Columbia (B.C. Hockey)
• Jonathan Bolduc – Université de Montréal (Hockey Quebec)
• Noémy Brisebois – Université de Montréal (Hockey Quebec)
• Melissa Brunn – University of British Columbia (B.C. Hockey)
• Lauren Fox – University of Alberta (Hockey Manitoba)
• Sophie LeBlanc – St. Mary’s University (Hockey Nova Scotia)
• Matthew Wass – Medicine Hat College (Hockey Alberta)
• David Westwood – Burman University (Hockey Alberta)

The Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship was established by the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation (formerly Project 75) and Hockey Canada in 2006 in recognition of Ken Stiles, a former president of Project 75, and his tremendous contributions to grassroots hockey in Canada. Stiles was a catalyst in planning and designing an initiative aimed at players and officials who demonstrate excellence in sport and commitment to education.

Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, officiating achievement and community involvement. Over the first 14 years, the program has awarded more than $296,000 to officials across the country.

Since the mid-1980s, the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation, an oil and gas legacy from the original Flames ownership group, has contributed more than $7.15 million to minor hockey development initiatives in Canada as well as other charities in Alberta.

For more information on the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit or contact your Member.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327


2022 WJC: CAN 11 – AUT 2 (Preliminary)
Bedard became the sixth with four goals in a win over Austria.
2021-22 WJC: CAN – CZE (Preliminary)
Power scored a hat trick as Canada opened with a win in Edmonton.
2022 WJC: CAN 6 – RUS 4 (Pre-Tournament)
McTavish scored twice and added an assist as Canada beat Russia.
WJC: Three masks, two Team Canadas
Check out the special masks that will be worn at the World Juniors.