2022 esso cup may 19 hst wst 960

Esso Cup Recap: Thursday, May 19

The Lightning, Rush and Hounds all picked up victories on Thursday in Okotoks, keeping Durham West perfect at 4-0.

May 19, 2022
|

Fraser Valley Rush 5, Northern Selects 4 (SO) 

Durham West Lightning 9, Remparts du Richelieu 3

Notre Dame Hounds 4, Prince Albert Bears 2  

Next games - Friday, May 20: 

  • Fraser Valley Rush vs. Durham West Lightning (12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT) 
  • Notre Dame Hounds vs. Remparts du Richelieu (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT) 
  • Prince Albert Bears vs. Northern Selects (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT) 

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games and the semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup.

Quotes: 

“We left it all out there today and earned this win. I’m proud of this group and what we’ve been able to accomplish. We didn’t even know if we would win our province and here we are now. We’ve got one more tomorrow and we’re not done yet.”

- Vienna Rubin (Fraser Valley Rush) on the shootout victory on Thursday


“This is the best hockey we’ve played all season. We came here to compete and win. The competition here is tough, but we need to keep doing what we have been doing to be successful.”

- Sadie Hotles (Durham West Lightning) on the Lightning mindset heading into Friday 

“To get the win here tonight feels great. We’ve been working hard but haven’t been rewarded. To beat our rivals from Saskatchewan makes it even sweeter. The pressure is on us now heading into the last day. I think this team is built for this moment and I know we will push forward.”

- Ryann Perrett (Notre Dame Hounds) on Hounds’ first regulation victory

For more information on the 2022 Esso Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
514-895-9706
dsaillant@hockeycanada.ca

 

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca

 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

 

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
WU18: CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Preliminary)
Canada outshot Finland 40-17 but came up short in its worlds opener.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 29 (Championship)
Brooks came from behind and downed Pickering to win its third national title.
2022 MWC: FIN 4 – CAN 3 OT (Gold Medal Game)
Comtois tied the game late, but Canada finished with silver.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 28 (Semifinals)
Brooks and Pickering punched their tickets to the national championship game.
Schedule