2022 centennial cup est cfl may 20 2

2022 Centennial Cup Recap: Friday, May 20

Dauphin, Summerside and Longueuil earned wins Friday at Canada's National Junior A Championship, leaving five teams with a victory through two days of action.

May 20, 2022
|

Dauphin Kings 2, Ottawa Jr. Senators 1

• Game stats available here

Summerside Western Capitals 4, Soo Thunderbirds 1

• Game stats available here

Collège Français de Longueuil 5, Estevan Bruins 3

• Game stats available here

Next games – Saturday, May 21:

• Red Lake Miners vs. Brooks Bandits (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT)
• Flin Flon Bombers vs. Ottawa Jr. Senators (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)
• Estevan Bruins vs. Pickering Panthers (9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT)

TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partners, will broadcast the championship game at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT on May 29, with all preliminary-round and playoff-round games livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca.

Quotes:

“I thought we started flat, but I also don’t think people expected us to win. We have kind of been overlooked all year, including the [MJHL] championship. We have the mindset coming into the tournament that we have something to prove, we’re excited for it and that’s why we are here.”

- Dauphin Kings forward Nakodan Greyeyes on the team’s tournament-opening win

“We haven’t played in 18 days and we weren’t real sharp in the first 10 minutes. We didn’t come out with any speed, but as the game wore on, I felt we took over and were able to dominate a bit. I think there are still a few things we can tweak and areas to get better at and we’ll prepare for that over the next 24 hours.”

- Summerside Western Capitals head coach Bill McGuigan on overcoming a slow start

“We were down 3-1, but the team played well in front of me. There were a lot of shots, but we watched a lot of video. Our coach did a good job scouting them and having us prepared for the game.”

- Collège Français de Longueuil goaltender Simon Bérubé on his team’s performance

For more information on the 2022 Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

emadziya@hockeycanada.ca 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

jknight@hockeycanada.ca

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
2022 HGC: CZE 3 – USA 1 (Preliminary)
Šprynar scored game winner as Czechia earned a semifinal spot.
2022 HGC: SVK 3 – SUI 2 (Preliminary) OT
Cedzo scores pair in overtime win over Switzerland
2022 HGC: CAN 3 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
Ratzlaff earned his second shutout to help Canada top pool A.
2022 HGC: SWE 9 – SUI 3 (Preliminary)
Lindstein had 5 points (1G, 4A) in Sweden’s win over Switzerland.
Schedule