2022 esso cup may 20 pac ont 960

Esso Cup Recap: Friday, May 20

Notre Dame, Durham West and Northern all picked up wins on Friday, the final day of preliminary-round action.

May 20, 2022
|

Durham West Lightning 5, Fraser Valley Rush 2

Notre Dame Hounds 4, Remparts du Richelieu 2

Northern Selects 2, Prince Albert Bears 0

Next games - Saturday, May 21: 

  • Semifinal 1: Notre Dame Hounds vs. Fraser Valley Rush (11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT) 
  • Semifinal 2: Northern Selects vs. Durham West Lightning (3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT) 

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT). Both semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup.

Quotes: 

“We’re ready for the pressure this weekend. We’ve talked all week about how we want to play for the title and be on TSN for our family and friends. There is work to be done and we can’t change our routine. What we’re doing has worked to get us here, and we want to keep it going.”

- Jessica Pellerin (Durham West Lightning) on the pressure of the playoff round

“Our goal was to get to this position, and we are feeling good right now. Every team is tired, but we have been here before and we know what we have to do to be ready for tomorrow.”

- Ellie Gauvin (Notre Dame Hounds) on heading into the playoffs with the right mindset 

“This one feels good because we have worked so hard for this opportunity. We don’t want to get too high as we know there is still work to be done. We’re facing the number-one team and know that it’s not going to be easy; we’re ready for the challenge and I’m excited to go through it with these girls.”

- Jorja Burrows (Northern Selects) on clinching a berth in the final four, just the second Atlantic team to ever do so

For more information on the 2022 Esso Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along  via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

emadziya@hockeycanada.ca 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

jknight@hockeycanada.ca

Videos
Photos
2022-23 NWT: USA 2 – CAN 1 (Game 2)
Campbell finished with 32 saves, but Canada was edged in Kamloops.
2022-23 NWT: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Game 1)
Clark gave Canada a third-period lead, but it dropped a shootout decision.
2022 U17: Day 10 – Saturday, November 12
The U.S. won gold, Canada Red took silver and Finland earned bronze.
2022 U17: Day 9 – Friday, November 11
Canada Black, Canada Red and Canada White all earned wins on Friday.
Schedule