The first step in Hockey Canada's Program of Excellence, the U17 World Challenge includes two Canadian teams and four international entries in a tournament that showcases of the future stars of the game. Since the first U17 tournament in 1986, Canada has been joined by 10 different countries: Czech Republic, Czechoslovakia, Finland, Germany, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Soviet Union, Sweden and the United States.

From 1986 to 2014, Canada was represented by five regional teams – Atlantic, Ontario, Pacific, Quebec and West – with Ontario winning a record-setting eight gold medals. Beginning in 2014, Hockey Canada went to a national team format, allowing players from across the country to play together immediately as they enter the POE.

The U17 World Challenge has long been a starting point for professional careers, with more than 2,000 NHL draft picks having played in the tournament. That number includes 21 players selected first overall – Pierre Turgeon, Mats Sundin, Alexandre Daigle, Bryan Berard, Joe Thornton, Vincent Lecavalier, Ilya Kovalchuk, Rick Nash, Marc-André Fleury, Alexander Ovechkin, Eric Johnson, Patrick Kane, John Tavares, Taylor Hall, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Aaron Ekblad, Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Jack Hughes, Alexis Lafrenière and Owen Power.

U17 World Challenge
Sarnia, ON
November 3-9, 2024
Charlottetown & Summerside, PE
Nov. 2-11, 2023
Langley & Delta, BC
Nov. 3-12, 2022
Ottawa, ON
Nov. 26-Dec. 1, 2021
Charlottetown & Summerside, PE
Oct. 31-Nov. 7, 2020
Which team has won the most gold medals? Which team scored the most goals in a game? How many U17 alumni have played in the NHL? Get all the answers in the U17 World Challenge Guide & Record Book.
All-Time Results
Year Gold Silver Bronze Location
2023 CAN-W USA SWE Charlottetown & Summerside, PE
2022 USA CAN-R FIN Langley & Delta, BC
2021 (Capital City Challenge) CAN-B CAN-R CAN-W Ottawa, ON
2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic Charlottetown & Summerside, PE
2019 RUS USA CZE Medicine Hat, AB & Swift Current, SK
2018 RUS FIN SWE Saint John & Quispamsis, NB
2017 USA CAN-R CZE Dawson Creek & Fort St. John, BC
2016 SWE CAN-B RUS Sault Ste. Marie, ON
2015 CAN-W RUS SWE Dawson Creek & Fort St. John, BC
2014 (Nov.) RUS USA SWE Sarnia-Lambton, ON
2014 (Jan.) USA PAC RUS Cape Breton, NS
2013 SWE RUS USA Victoriaville & Drummondville, QC
2012 RUS USA ONT Windsor, ON
2011 ONT USA PAC Winnipeg, MB
2010 USA ONT SWE Timmins, ON
2009 ONT PAC USA Port Alberni, BC
2008 ONT USA WST London, ON
2006 QUE USA CZE Regina, SK
2005 WST PAC ATL Lethbridge, AB
2004 ONT PAC QUE St. John's, NL
2002 USA PAC ONT Selkirk & Stonewall, MB
2001 USA PAC ONT New Glasgow & Truro, NS
2000 RUS ONT PAC Timmins, ON
1998 WST USA FIN Swift Current, SK
1998 ONT CZE QUE Kitchener, ON
1997 ONT SWE QUE Central Alberta
1995 ONT FIN QUE Moncton, NB
1994 QUE USA PAC Amos, QC
1992 ONT QUE TCH Sudbury, ON
1990 FIN QUE URS Quebec
1988 URS SWE QUE Quebec
1986 QUE URS PAC Quebec
2022 U17: Day 10 – Saturday, November 12
The U.S. won gold, Canada Red took silver and Finland earned bronze.
2022 U17: Day 9 – Friday, November 11
Canada Black, Canada Red and Canada White all earned wins on Friday.
2022 U17: Day 6 – Tuesday, November 8
Finland, the United States and Canada White had Tuesday triumphs in B.C.
2022 U17: Day 5 – Monday, November 7
Sweden, Finland and the United States were Monday winners in B.C.