2023  elizabeth  dornstauder  official  esso  cup

Officials selected for IIHF events

IIHF licences 58 Canadian officials for international competition during 2023-24 season

Dan Hanoomansingh
September 14, 2023

Nearly five dozen officials will represent Canada on the international stage this season.

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has licenced 58 Canadian officials — 29 referees and 29 linespersons — for international competition during the 2023-24 season. Specific assignments will be announced by the IIHF throughout the season.

This year’s list is headlined by Olympic officials Michael Campbell (Surrey, BC), Alexandra Clarke (Weyburn, SK), Stéphanie Gagnon (Princeville, QC), Cianna Lieffers (Saskatoon, SK), Elizabeth Mantha (Montréal, QC), Lacey Senuk (St. Albert, AB) and Justine Todd (Alliston, ON). Furthermore, 11 officials will be looking to make their international debuts during the season.

“Hockey Canada is always proud of our officials who represent Canada at the international level,” says Dan Hanoomansingh, manager of officiating with Hockey Canada. “The opportunity to participate in international competition is a career highlight for officials. Every Canadian official who is licensed by the IIHF competes for years to earn that opportunity and once they have, there’s someone trying to take their spot. The achievements of these officials are a credit to themselves, as well as their Member programs, who aided in their development.”

As part of the IIHF program for the 2023-24 season, 15 officials — seven referees and eight linespersons — will participate in the IIHF’s From Good to Great program this season. This program is in its inaugural season and is designed for individuals who have been identified by national associations as future top international officials.

“This is a fantastic initiative from the IIHF and we are thrilled for our officials who will participate,” says Hanoomansingh. “It is always an adjustment for officials when they progress from the national to the international level. However, this program will provide an opportunity for our officials to be introduced to the expectations of the international game, so that when they receive their first assignment, they can achieve immediate success.”

Four Canadians will also work as part of the IIHF officiating coaching staff this season: Todd Anderson (Calgary, AB.), Kevin Muench (Moose Jaw, SK), Jacqui Palm (Newmarket, ON) and Vanessa Stratton (Windsor, ON).

The Hockey Canada Officiating Program is for anyone who is interested in officiating, from the grassroots to the international game. Hockey Canada's 13 Members provide a path for anyone to participate in officiating, develop a love for the game and achieve their goals.

For more information about the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit


Name (Member) Event (Location)
Brayden Arcand (Hockey Alberta) --
Grace Barlow (BC Hockey) --
Jennifer Berezowski (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) --
Adam Bloski (Hockey Saskatchewan) --
Mathieu Boudreau (Hockey Québec) Youth Olympic Winter Games (Gangneung, Korea)
Taylor Burzminski (Hockey Alberta) --
Dominic Cadieux (Hockey Quebec) --
Michael Campbell (BC Hockey) --
Marie-Ève Couture (Hockey Quebec) --
Brandy Dewar (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) U18 Women’s World Championship (Zug, Switzerland)
Tanner Doiron (Hockey PEI) U20 Men’s World Championship, Division 1B (Bled, Slovenia)
Béatrice Fortin (Hockey Quebec) Youth Olympic Winter Games (Gangneung, Korea)
Jesse Gour (Hockey Quebec) --
Mike Langin (BC Hockey) --
Cianna Lieffers (Hockey Saskatchewan) --
Elizabeth Mantha (Hockey Quebec) U18 Women’s World Championship (Zug, Switzerland)
Amy Martin (Hockey Manitoba) --
Troy Murray (Hockey Saskatchewan) World Junior Championship (Gothenburg, Sweden)
Shauna Neary (Hockey Nova Scotia) --
Mark Pearce (BC Hockey) World Junior Championship (Gothenburg, Sweden)
Lacey Senuk (Hockey Alberta) --
Michelle Stapleton (Hockey Saskatchewan) --
Tyson Stewart (Hockey Eastern Ontario) --

Name (Hometown) Event (Location)
Nick Albinati (BC Hockey)  -- 
Maxime Bédard (Hockey Quebec) --
Ali Beres (Ontario Women's Hockey Association)  U18 Women’s World Championship, Division 1B (Jaca, Spain)
Brian Birkhoff (Ontario Hockey Federation) U20 Men’s World Championship, Division 1A (Budapest, Hungary)
Melissa Brunn (BC Hockey)
U18 Women’s World Championship, Division 1A (Egna, Italy)
Jessica Chartrand (Hockey Quebec) --
Alexandra Clarke (Hockey Saskatchewan) --
Joanie Duchesneau (Hockey Quebec) --
Jérémy Faucher (Hockey Quebec) World Junior Championship (Gothenburg, Sweden)
Maxime Ferland (Hockey Quebec)  -- 
Stéphanie Gagnon (Hockey Quebec) --
Mitchell Gibbs (BC Hockey)  -- 
Laura Gutauskas (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) --
Chad Huseby (Hockey Alberta) --
Anthony Lapointe (Hockey Quebec) U20 Men’s World Championship, Division 2A (Dumfries, Scotland)
Brett Mackey (BC Hockey) --
Shawn Oliver (Hockey Eastern Ontario) --
Sophie Thomson (Hockey Nova Scotia) --
Justine Todd (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) --
Tarrington Wyonzek (Hockey Saskatchewan) --
Erin Zach (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) --


Name (Member) Role
Gillian Allan (Ontario Women's Hockey Association) Linesperson
Jodi Anderson (Hockey Manitoba) Linesperson
Mathieu Boudreau (Hockey Quebec) Referee
Cynthia Côté (Hockey Manitoba) Referee
Pierre-Olivier Couture (Hockey Nova Scotia) Linesperson
Elizabeth Dornstauder (Hockey Saskatchewan) Referee
Danny Emerson (Ontario Hockey Federation) Referee
Adam Forbes (Hockey Saskatchewan) Referee
Audrey-Anne Girard (Hockey Quebec) Referee
Andre Grougrou (Ontario Hockey Federation) Linesperson
Nathan Howes (BC Hockey) Linesperson
Danika Kroeker (BC Hockey) Linesperson
Amy Laroche (BC Hockey) Linesperson
Josh Miko (Hockey Manitoba) Linesperson
Ty Skene (Hockey Saskatchewan) Referee

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.