2023 off official jersey patch

Officials selected for spring national championships

Forty-four officials – 22 referees and 22 linespersons – from across the country have been selected by Hockey Canada for the Esso Cup, Men’s U18 National Club Championship and Centennial Cup.

Nicholas Pescod
April 17, 2023

As another season comes to an end, officials are gearing up for Hockey Canada’s spring national championships.

Forty-four officials – 22 referees and 22 linespersons – from across the country have been selected by Hockey Canada for the Esso Cup, Men’s U18 National Club Championship and Centennial Cup.

Officials selected for Esso Cup

The officials chosen for the 2023 Esso Cup in Prince Albert, Sask., are part of the Women’s Officiating Program of Excellence, presented by the Hockey Canada Foundation. As part of this program, they have attended development camps, received ongoing mentorship in their Member programs and been evaluated by national officiating coaches prior to a final selection by Hockey Canada.

“This is a tremendous opportunity for these officials to finish the season with a championship event,” says Dan Hanoomansingh, manager of officiating with Hockey Canada. “These officials have shown well at our development events and we are excited to continue working with them at this championship. As always, we are incredibly grateful to the Hockey Canada Foundation for supporting this program and the development of women and girls in officiating through Hockey Is Hers.”

2023 Esso Cup (Prince Albert, Sask.)
Name (Hometown) Member Role
Jennifer Busby (Aberdeen, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Linesperson
Jessica Coleman (Brantford, Ont.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Elizabeth Dornstauder (Regina, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Emme Dragon (Burnaby, B.C.) BC Hockey Referee
Camille Forbes (Winnipeg, Man.) Hockey Manitoba Referee
Alex Foreman (Moose Jaw, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan
Darby Hacaluk (Whitby, Ont.) Ontario Women's Hockey Association
Megan Long (Morinville, Alta.) Hockey Saskatchewan
Justine Mageau (Trois-Rivières, Que.)
Hockey Québec
Dakota Peterson (Battleford, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan
Kaitlyn Sauser (Churchbridge, Sask.)
Hockey Saskatchewan Linesperson
Mykaela Sherry (Truro, N.S.) Hockey Nova Scotia Linesperson
Renée St. Louis (Windsor, Ont.)
Ontario Women's Hockey Association
Ally Wareham (Steinbach, Man.) Hockey Manitoba Linesperson

The officiating coaches for the Esso Cup are Hanoomansingh, Theresa Llorente (Edmonton, Alta.) and Kim Sobkowicz (Outlook, Sask.).

Officials selected for Men's U18 National Club Championship

The officials chosen for the 2023 Men’s U18 National Club Championship in Saint-Hyacinthe, Que., are part of Hockey Quebec’s program of excellence. They have undergone a lengthy identification and evaluation process by Hockey Quebec during the 2022-23 season, with several attending previous Hockey Canada Officiating Program of Excellence camps and national events.

“The U18 club nationals is an exciting opportunity for the officials of the host Member program,” says Hanoomansingh. “These officials have collaborated and competed all year in their home league, forming a cohesive unit, and earned their selection to the national championship.”

2023 Men's U18 National Club Championship (Saint-Hyacinthe, Que.)
Name (Hometown) Member Role
Samuel Bélanger (Montréal, Que.) Hockey Québec
Vincent Bigras (Ste-Eustache, Que.) Hockey Québec
Mathieu Boudreau (Gatineau, Que.) Hockey Québec Referee
Maxime Carré (Trois-Rivières, Que.) Hockey Québec Linesperson
Samuel Charette (St-Jérôme, Que.) Hockey Québec Referee
Émile Charron (Gatineau, Que.) Hockey Québec
Simon Cholette (Lochaber, Que.) Hockey Québec
Antoine Denommé (Val-d'Or, Que.) Hockey Québec
Maxime Ferland (Ste-Catherine, Que.)
Hockey Québec
Yannick Jobin-Manseau (Mascouche, Que.) Hockey Québec
William Kelly (Val-d'Or, Que.)
Hockey Québec Linesperson
Anthony Lapointe (Verdun, Que.) Hockey Québec Linesperson
Samuel Paré (Repentigny, Que.)
Hockey Québec
Pierre-Olivier Schoeb (Mascouche, Que.) Hockey Québec Linesperson

The officiating coaches for the Men’s U18 Club Championship are Serge Carpentier and Doug Hayward.

Officials selected for Centennial Cup

The officials who will officiate the 2023 Centennial Cup in Portage la Prairie, Man., are the top officials in their Junior A leagues from across the country. The referees are drawn from Hockey Canada’s National High Performance Program, while the linespersons are drawn from both the National High Performance Program and their Member high performance programs. Officials were coached and evaluated throughout the season across the Canadian Junior Hockey League, prior to their final selection.

“We have high expectations for our elite officials in every game,” says Hanoomansingh. “Even with the expanded, 10-team tournament, the selections for this tournament were extremely competitive. This is an outstanding group of officials and we are looking forward to seeing them hit the ice in Portage la Prairie.”

2023 Centennial Cup (Portage la Prairie, Man.)
Name (Hometown) Member Role
Taylor Burzminski (St. Albert, Alta.) Hockey Alberta
Dominic Cadieux (St-Constant, Que.) Hockey Québec
Ben Croker (Brandon, Man.) Hockey Manitoba Referee
Tanner Doiron (Bedeque, P.E.I.) Hockey PEI Referee
Jérémy Faucher (Cowansville, Que.) Hockey Québec Linesperson
Adam Forbes (Saskatoon, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan
David Gilfoy (Antigonish, N.S.) Hockey Alberta
Nick Grenier (Ile-des-Chênes, Man.) Hockey Manitoba
Tyler Jensen (Drumheller, Alta.) Hockey Alberta
Anthony Lapointe (Verdun, Que.)
Hockey Québec Linesperson
Garrett Merill (Bedford, N.S.) Hockey Eastern Ontario Linesperson
Devon Newhouse (Barrie, Ont.)
Ontario Hockey Federation Linesperson
Shawn Oliver (Ottawa, Ont.) Hockey Eastern Ontario Linesperson
Mike Ricia (Whitby, Ont.) Ontario Hockey Federation Referee
Bryce Sebastian (Melville, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Brent Vandermuelen (Regina, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Linesperson
The officiating coaches for the Centennial Cup are François Fortin (Chibougamau, Que.) and Danny McCourt (Sudbury, Ont.)

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.