kayla tutino

The next chapter

For the fourth straight year, a National Women’s U18 Championship alumna went first overall in the CWHL Draft

Wendy Graves
August 23, 2016

If the waiting was the hardest part, then the 2016 CWHL Draft may have been one of Kayla Tutino’s easier days.

The forward from Lorraine, Que., was selected first overall by the Boston Blades, the fourth-straight year an alumna of the National Women’s Under-18 Championship was the top pick off the board.

Tutino follows Jessica Wong (Atlantic, 2007/2008), Laura Fortino (Ontario Red, 2007/2008) and Sarah Edney (Ontario Blue, 2009). Including Meghan Agosta (Ontario Red, J2005) in 2011, a U18 nationals alumna has been the first pick five times since the league’s inaugural draft in 2010.

Overall, 19 of the 65 players chosen once played in the national championship, an annual showcase of the future of women’s hockey in the country. This includes four of the first five players chosen, and seven of the first 10.

Tutino played twice for Quebec, winning a silver medal in 2008 and a bronze medal a year later. Fellow first-rounder Laura Stacey (3rd overall, Brampton Thunder) also owns two medals from the tournament: silver from 2009 with Ontario Blue and gold from 2011 with Ontario Red, won in a game over Sarah Lefort (5th, Les Canadiennes de Montreal) and Quebec. Emerance Maschmeyer (4th, Calgary Inferno) didn’t medal with Alberta that year, but earlier this year backstopped Canada’s National Women’s Team to a silver medal at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

The Toronto Furies were the only team not to take an alumna in the first round, but with five selected throughout the draft, they – along with Montreal and Brampton – took the most.

Among the 19 alumnae were two individual award winners. Jaimie McDonell (Ontario Red) was named Most Valuable Player in 2011, the same year Shannon MacAulay (Atlantic) was chosen Top Forward.

Collectively, the players have won 21 medals: eight gold, nine silver and four bronze.

National Women’s Under-18 Championship alumnae selected in the 2016 CWHL Draft included:

1st Round
1. Boston – Kayla Tutino (Quebec, 2008/2009)
3. Brampton – Laura Stacey (Ontario Blue, 2009; Ontario Red, 2011)
4. Calgary – Emerance Maschmeyer (Alberta, 2011)
5. Montreal – Sarah Lefort (Quebec, 2011)

2nd Round
7. Toronto – Erin Ambrose (Ontario Blue, 2008; Ontario Red, 2009/2011)
8. Brampton – Shannon MacAulay (Atlantic, 2009, 2011)
10. Montreal – Cassandra Poudrier (Quebec, 2007/2008/2009)

3rd Round
12. Toronto – Michela Cava (Ontario Red, 2011)
13. Brampton – Nicole Brown (Ontario Red, 2011)
15. Montreal – Ariane Barker (Quebec, 2007/2008/2009)

4th Round
17. Brampton – Jaimie McDonell (Ontario Red, 2011)
20. Montreal – Brittney Fouracres (Alberta, 2009)

5th Round
22. Toronto – Jenna Dingeldein (Ontario Blue, 2009)
24. Calgary - Akane Hosoyamada (Alberta, 2008/2009)

6th Round
27. Toronto – Danielle Gagne (Ontario Blue, 2009)

7th Round
31. Boston – Alexis Woloschuk (Manitoba, 2011)
35. Montreal – Melanie Desrochers (Ontario Blue, 2009)

10th Round
48. Brampton – Emily Grainger (British Columbia, 2007)

11th Round
51. Toronto – Carlee Eusepi (Ontario Red, J2005/N2005)

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.