poulin captain

Marie-Philip Poulin named captain of Canada’s National Women’s Team for 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship

Canada opens world championship Saturday vs. United States

March 26, 2015

MALMÖ, Sweden – Doug Derraugh, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team, announced Thursday that Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Que./Boston University, HE) will captain Team Canada at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship.

Poulin has won a pair of Olympic gold medals with Canada’s National Women’s Team, scoring the gold medal-winning goal at the 2010 and 2014 Games, and will appear in her fifth IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship; she won gold in 2012, and earned silver in 2009, 2011 and 2013.

In addition, forwards Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ont./Cornell University, ECAC), Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont./Calgary, CWHL) and Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont./Toronto, CWHL), and defenceman Lauriane Rougeau (Beaconsfield, Que./Montreal, CWHL) will join Poulin on the leadership group as alternate captains.

“This is a leadership group with tremendous experience and success at every level of Canada’s National Women’s Program, and it will be exciting to watch them lead our team in Malmö,” said Derraugh. “This group, and all 23 players on our roster, are ready to represent their country with pride, and we’re all set for the puck to drop.”

Canada’s National Women’s Team opens its quest for an 11th gold medal at the IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship when it faces the United States on Saturday in Malmö, with puck drop scheduled for 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT.

Canada will also face Russia on March 29 and Finland on March 31 in preliminary round play. The quarter-finals are set for April 1 and the semifinals are April 3, with the bronze medal game and gold medal game on April 4.

All of Canada’s games at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship will be shown by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for broadcast times.

The 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship is the 16th since the tournament’s 1990 inception. Canada’s National Women’s Team has appeared in every world championship gold medal game, winning 10 gold medals (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2012) and five silver (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013).

NOTE TO MEDIA: Francis Dupont, Hockey Canada’s manager of communications, is with Canada’s National Women’s Team during the world championship. Please contact him for interview requests at or 587-999-5681.

For more information on Canada’s National Women’s Team and Hockey Canada, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.